Drunk driving is very dangerous, so all states and municipalities have severe punishment in an attempt to avoid it. However, because the circumstances are not exactly the same for all drivers, there are a few different categories of drunk driving, or correctly said, “Driving under the influence of intoxication” DUI or “driving while intoxicated” DWI.
Arizona law prohibits the consumption of alcohol to anyone under 21 years old. The penalty for drinking in Arizona varies slightly, and is based on the mitigating circumstances and the discretion of the judge. Sanctions may include a year’s probation, a requirement to perform community service programs and possible alcohol addiction or alcoholism prevention. Other options include a deferred prosecution. This is similar to probation, with the exception that the trial is suspended indefinitely, which means that the child does not incur a criminal record.
However, the addition of an equal vehicle becomes much more serious issues. Arizona has zero tolerance for drinking and driving. This means that any alcohol content in the blood (BAC) above 0% in an operation of a motor vehicle is considered minor driving while intoxicated, even if the individual “feels good” or behaves otherwise normally. The penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) being a minor in Arizona include mandatory automatic revocation of driver’s license for two years, and possible additional sanctions.
For those of legal drinking age in Arizona, DUI penalties are still relatively serious. Arizona prohibits accused of negligent driving under the influence of alcohol to plead guilty to a misdemeanor. A first offense DUI in Arizona insures several penalties, including fines, penalties, and jail time also license revocation. Jail time for a first offense is not less than 24 hours and a maximum of ten days. The offender’s driver’s license can be suspended for 90 to 360 days. Fines and surcharges bonds usually total about $ 1,500. In addition, the court may order the offender to have an ignition interlock device installed on the main vehicle, with the expense of the person.
For second offenses, fines, deposits and fees are more than double. Jail time must be served for a minimum of 30 days and up to 90 days. The offender’s driver’s license can be suspended for one year, the igniter must be installed for one year, education programs and alcohol abuse must be completed, on the cost of the accused.
Due to the complicated and severe penalties for drunk driving in Arizona, your best option is to take advantage of a lawyer with experience in DUI cases.