A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) becomes part of a permanent criminal record that follows you for the rest of his life.
When you are arrested for DUI
If you are stopped by a police offer a suspicion that you are driving under the influence, that officer can be tested for intoxication through any sobriety tests or chemical tests. A field sobriety test, although it is generally considered wrong by his assumption of the health of a suspect, can include walking and turn, finger to his nose, standing on one leg, horizontal gaze nest gums (rapid eye movement, by usually from side to side). Chemical tests, considered more accurate, include blood tests and urinalysis. In any case, the police are human – and every human being is capable of making mistakes.
Protection renowned harsh penalties for DUI in Georgia
In Georgia, a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or more DUI automatically results for a driver at least 21 years old. The blood alcohol limit for drivers under 21 is 0.02, and for professional drivers the limit is 0.04. If you are driving a commercial vehicle and the test shows any alcohol, a warrant out of 24 hours is issued, and the vehicle is impounded. If the level of alcohol in a person’s blood exceeds 1.5, the state can impose harsh penalties for DUI.
If convicted of a DUI, you may be subject to the following penalties under the law of Georgia:
- First offense – jail time ranging from 24 hours to 1 year, a fine of $ 300 to $ 1,000, at least $ 200 for the restoration of license and other penalties including suspension of license for up to one year, community service at least 40 hours and the risk reduction mandatory school
- Second offense within ten years of the first offense – jail time ranging from 3 days to 1 year, a fine of $ 600 to $ 1,000, $ 210 for the restoration of license and other sanctions including license suspension for one year, community service at least 30 days and requires clinical evaluation
- Third offense within ten years of the second offense – jail time of at least 15 days to 1 year, a fine of $ 1,000 to $ 5,000, license revoked for five years, community service at least 30 days and the shame of being labeled a habitual offender in local newspapers